Home Sweet Home

I think I’m nesting.

It’s summer break and for the last few months I was so looking forward to being able to blog more, read a few good books, work on various other frivolous hobbies of mine, instead I’m in super-speed HGTV style project mode. I spent the better part of last week working on a planter bed in our backyard. Never having much of a green thumb, it had gotten away from me. I identified plants, weeded, edged, planted new plants in bare spots, laid landscape fabric, mulched, AND I’ve been watering it nightly. I’m NEVER this on top of things! Yesterday I was overcome with the desire to redo our powder room. With stark white walls and basic builder grade fixtures, it was nothing spectacular. Just a little over 24 hours later, with $100 spent at Home Depot, it is now a delicious shade of purple with an amazing glossy on flat paint design as a focal wall, new towel/toilet paper holders, and a new light fixture. No more backstage Broadway make-up table bare bulbs lined up like soliders across the top of the mirror. Nope, we have brushed nickel and creamy frosted glass, and best of all I installed it and IT WORKED! My father, lifetime electrician, would be so proud even if I did reach around the corner from the hallway the first time I turned it on because I thought it might burst into flames. (The thought of having the fire extinguisher in hand when I turned it on for the first time did cross my mind!) I’ve barely slowed down and every morning I wake up with new aches and pains from the random around the house projects I’ve tackled each day. We haven’t pursued anything other than reading some books and online information for the THP, is it too soon to be nesting?

So I just did a quick Google search for “nesting” clipart that I could include in this post and something in my mind made me think of Horton. He’s Dr. Seuss’s version of an adoptive parent now isn’t he? Maybe he’s more of a surrogate. Either way we have a neglectful birth parent involved. For the life of me I can’t remember how the story ends (don’t tell my principal, I’m ashamed to admit that and call myself an elementary school teacher!) I may need to seek out a little Horton Hatches the Egg sometime soon!

I have been doing a bit more serious reading lately. Mr. Something and I just finished Adoption: Choosing It, Living It, Loving It by Dr. Ray Guarendi. For simply wandering into the parenting section of our local bookstore and trying to find an adoption book that applied to foster care adoption, we did well by our choice! The whole book is set up as questions and answers so it was super easy to focus on the sections that applied to us and skip over the ones that did not. The topics covered range from choosing adoption, children labeled with “special needs”, open or closed adoption, where to begin, to parenting an adopted child into adulthood. I would highly recommend this book. It was a wonderful first read into the world of foster care adoption, not too heavy but very informative. Guarendi approaches these difficult questions with an easy going wit and down to earth sensibilities. More than once we found ourselves smiling and nodding along to his advice. There were days over the last few months when a new issue about pursing adoption would come to mind and sure enough we’d turn a few pages and Dr. Ray would be speaking on that very topic, quelling our fears. Moving forward, I know we will be sure to revisit Adoption: Choosing It, Living It, Loving It as our journey matures through the next steps. In the meantime I’ll be thinking about painting the living room and perhaps adding some shelves to the dinning room…

One thought on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Hi, I am new to your page. I found you because I have been looking for other like minded bloggers that I can relate and share with. A bit about me; I have a blog journal that is a true journal from the 80’s between my cousin and I in foster care. I have written our story of abuse and how we found clever ways to protect each other. Which is why after reading your blog I think you may like it. I am trying to raise awareness and inspire at the same time. These journal entries have everything in topics including; sex, drugs, adoption, foster care, physical, sexual and mental abuse, running away, rites of passage, mental illness, love, hope, and most importantly dreams.I hope you look up Izzie and Eden’s diary on my page, I think you’ll totally dig it! Keep on writing, your fantastic! Thank you very much! Lydia…………..http://sunnylanejournal.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

